Travel Grants IAHPC

The International Association for Hospice and Palliative Care (IAHPC) and the European Association for Palliative Care (EAPC) are pleased to announce the winners of this year’s IAHPC Traveling Scholarships, to support their travel to the 15th World Congress of the Eurpean Association for Palliative Care (EAPC) in Madrid, Spain, 18 – 20 May 2017.

As per the criteria for applications, all grantees are active member of IAHPC, working actively in palliative care and are registered web users of the EAPC database. Preference was given to individuals who work in countries that are classified as lower, lower-middle or upper-middle income categories.

In total, 50 applications were received from a wide range of countries, background and professions, including physicians, nurses, psychologists and other disciplines. The committee was pleased with the high quality of applications and would like to thank all those who applied, for their interest in both the IAHPC and EAPC World Congress.

The final list of the 28 grantees selected by IAHPC and EAPC are:

Maria de los Angeles Minatel MD
Vicente Lopez, Argentina


Narine Movsisyan MD
Yerevan, Armenia

Yeva Asribabayan PhD
Yerevan, Armenia

  Davie Mpate
Zomba, Malawi

Edita Birskyte MD
Kaunas, Lithuania

  Leidy Viviana Nandar Araujo MD
Mainnzales, Colombia

Lee Chee Chan MD
Kuantan, Malaysia

  Theodora Ndunguru
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Pati Dzotsenidze MD
Tbilisi, Georgia

  Sunita Panta MD
Kathmandu, Nepal

Nahla Gafer MD
Khartoum, Sudan

  Marija Inesa Poniskaitene MD/PhD
Kaunas, Lithuania

Marcela Gonzalez Otaiza MD
Santiago, Chile

  Jorge Alberto Ramos Guerrero MD
San Martin Hidalgo, Mexico

Coumba Gueya MD
Dakar, Senegal

  Nora Helena Saldarriago Cartagena
Medellin, Colombia

Maya Jane Bates
Blantyre, Malawi

  Gabriela Sarmiento Brecher MD
Bogota, Colombia

Phanice Jepkemoi Tom
Eldoret, Kenya

  Sandra Patricia Silva
Bogota, Colombia

Rita Kabasinskiene MD
Kauno, Lithuania

  Abdullateef Gbenga Sule MD
Zaria, Nigeria

Alick Austine Kayange MD
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

  Luz Adriana Templos Esteban
Mexico City, Mexico 

Kellen Kimani PhD
Nairobi, Kenya

  Jack Turyahikayo
Kampala, Uganda

Joshua Ngwang Menang RN
Mutengene, Cameroon

  Samy Alsirafy
Cairo, Egypt

Two additional Traveling Scholarships were given to IAHPC members through the Membership Recognition Award Program.

Loyalty Recognition Award Winner:
Kathleen Introna RN
Nongkhai, Thailand   

Membership Recognition Award:
Faraja Kiwanga MD
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania  

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. Read more …